DomplatzOpenAir 2019
Hilfsnavigation

„Chicago“ at the DomplatzOpenAir

International renowned musicals against the spectacular backdrop of the Magdeburg Cathedral: the DomplatzOpenAir is one of Magdeburg's cultural highlights. In 2019 Magdeburg theatre presents the musical „Chicago” from 14 June (premiere) to 7 July.

The Story

A young woman marries the rich, much older widower Maxim de Winter and moves with him to his Manderlay country estate - somewhere on the southern coast of England. Doubts and danger mix increasingly in the romantic loneliness, because the spirit of the first Mrs. de Winter, Rebecca, is omnipresent in the house - decisively supported by the housekeeper Mrs. Danvers: Can the young wife emancipate herself from her overpowering predecessor? And what happened to Rebecca anyway?

The Musical

After the success of "Elisabeth", musical author Michael Kunze succeeded in obtaining the rights for a musical version of the novel by Daphne du Maurier. Again he collaborated with composer Sylvester Levay and developed one of the most successful German musicals ever for the Vereinigte Bühnen Wien. After the open-air plays in Tecklenburg, Theater Magdeburg is only the second theatre to develop a new production of the musical.

Vorstellungen

Premiere Friday, 14 June 2019, 9 p.m.
Further shows: Sat. 15 June / Sun. 16 June / Wed. 19 June / Thu. 20 June/ Fri. 21 June / Sat. 22 June / Sun. 23 June / Wed. 26 June / Thu. 27 June / Fri. 28 June / Sat. 29 June / Sun. 30 June / Wed. 3 July / Thu. 4 July / Fri. 5 July / Sat. 6 July / Sun. 7 July