The Monastery of Our Lady is a stunning piece of Romanesque architecture on the Romanesque Road and also the oldest surviving building in Magdeburg. History ascribes the foundation of the monastery to Archbishop Gero who founded the collegiate church in 1015. Around 1070, St. Mary's Church was then inspired by Archbishop Werner and built as a three-aisle basilica with a transept. In 1129, it was taken over by the Premonstratensian order, and the west front with the two predominant towers was added to the building.
The well-preserved cloister walk is a beautiful example of Romanesque architecture in its own right, and a special highlight is the well house as the oldest of its kind in Germany. The northern aisle with its three story barrel-vaulted refectory once included the monks' dining and meeting hall as well as the kitchen and pantry. In the 13th century, the monastery church dedicated to St. Mary was vaulted in early Gothic style.
Today the monastery hosts the Magdeburg Art Museum featuring a fine collection of medieval and contemporary sculptures and offering many special exhibitions as well as the Georg Philipp Telemann concert hall named after the famous Magdeburg-born Baroque composer. The library is home to a marvellous collection of 22,000 books from the 15th to 20th century.